top of page
  • Writer's pictureinkedrabbit6

This is my job :)

Three weeks ago I came across a post of Facebook from a local brewery who was holding a maker's fair. I've actually worked events at Intersect and I absolutely love what they are doing! I signed up. This lead into the decision to make everything a little more official in the eyes of the state of Colorado. Inked Rabbit Illustrations is now under my sole proprietorship and I couldn't be happier! But it's been the hardest 3 weeks balancing everything!


But it got done!


The reality that my hobby is turning into my job is sinking in and bringing it's own anxiety. I've always had fun jobs that were somewhat hobby related, all of them I've loved but this time is different. I worked at an art gallery. (Technically I was a waitress in their café and have had conversations with some of the most amazing artists and one of my favorite children's authors, William Joyce. That job was a lot of fun! Biggest take away; there is so much talent around you if you'd just look!), I've been a photographer. (Learned not everyone loves spontaneity and sometimes the bigger the frame, the smaller the frame of mind).I had the privilege of having an apprenticeship at two tattoo shops. (That one I realized permanence might not be my thing, but I respect that profession so much! Tattoos are your personal story and I love people who are unashamed of that story.) I've had sips of beer from the same glass of some of the best brewers in the industry while slinging cheese. (Had I not had this job, I would not have realized I can do this for myself in the first place. I really do feel I would still be hesitant to start this adventure had my job been anything different.) Heck I've had the boring jobs too but still learned valuable lessons; retail, food service. (Everyone needs a food service job once in their lives.) I was never particularly really great at any one job if I'm going to be honest with myself. I loved them all passionately but I always burned out. With that in mind it's hard not to feel apprehensive about my business model.


Just have fun.


If I'm paying for booth space, there's no reason I can't treat it like a studio, right? As long as I cover my bases of how do I clean up and keep everyone's area clear of paint who cares what I do? If I can produce as much art as I have in the past year all while going through what I'm sure my family will agree was a nervous breakdown, I can handle painting, drawing, etc. in front of an audience of people.


So yesterday that's exactly what happened.


I packed up my whole art desk and set up and set up for my first event.


And I couldn't have been happier!


I decided for this event why not bring something I'm not familiar with? I invested in a gelli plate to make monoprints and brought it along with me. I got a broad range of people to play around with it with me! I got to learn, and I got to talk about print making at the same time!

I was covered in paint all day and loved every single second of it! Even once it got later and I realized no one was buying, I didn't care! (Don't worry I did sell a piece;) )I got to make about 20 prints with other people and so many more just playing on it for myself! I had some amazing friends stop by and support me!


I told myself I didn't care what happened, and I would be happy if I sold one piece. And I did just that! Ray has found a new home and I'm over the moon! That piece had a lot of work put into it and to hear the reactions from people about him and my other work and calling it whimsy really made me feel pretty amazing. (It's always felt good to hear it from loved ones, but loved ones are there to support you. Strangers don't particularly care for your feelings.), seriously it's a hard high to come down from. But now my head is so full of ideas! For the first time in a long while it feels like I'm in more control of my own happiness despite the chaos of life. I love being a maker. It's not my place to settle into the normal world because frankly I was never designed for it.


I can not wait for my next event!


To everyone who has supported all my crazy ideas, all of you that have seen that look in my eyes when you give me an idea, for all of you who came out yesterday and took a moment out of your day to see me, you mean the world to me! I love all of you and appreciate all of it!





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving Right Along

It's been about a month since I last updated and a lot has happened! First and foremost I signed up for my first event! October 6th I'll be at Intersect Brewing for their Fall Maker's market! It's sma

My Personal Journey in Art

by:

Sarah Ezell

Illustrating My Life

bottom of page